I really don’t like accepting help. Not in the “lost-husband-not-allowing-his-wife-to-ask-strangers-for-directions”sense but in the “stubborn-toddler-insisting-they-can-do-everything-by-their-self” sense.

I’m not a believer in star signs and character traits but I am definitely a stubborn Scorpio.

Seeing other people excel in areas I struggle in is a real issue for me. I honestly don’t think it affects other people as much as it does me. Which is probably why I don’t like to accept help.

By excel I don’t mean financially but more personality/ character traits and milestone/ life achievements. “If they can do it, why can’t I?” Is a common thought that runs through my mind. Anyway…

Since I got back from uni in 2013 a couple of areas of my life have been a mess and I’ve been attempting to get them in order by myself and flat-out rejecting the help of everyone around me – politely of course. I think it’s safe to say that the progress has been so small it’s undetectable to the human eye. I’ve been thinking about it all day and have just reached a conclusion.

I cannot do this alone.

Wow, admitting that wasn’t fun.

So starting tomorrow I will swallow my pride and subtly reach out to people who’ve reached out to me and get things rolling.

But while it’s still today, can we please have a moment of silence for my pride… –

